Press Release 2014 eLCC Annual Awards


eLCC logo

Press Release
April 17, 2014

eLCC 2014 Educator of the Year

Maxine Christenson, eLCC EDUCATOR OF THE YEAR 2014  Maxine Christenson, Professor of Marketing/Management at Aims Community College, was named the 2014 Educator of the Year at the 25th annual eLearning Consortium of Colorado Conference held April 16-18 at the Beaver Run Conference Center in Breckenridge, CO.

Christenson’s nomination stated that she “…is a veteran instructor at Aims who maintains a high standard of excellence in teaching and is a mentor to her colleagues.  Throughout her teaching career, she has explored new and innovative ways to present material and engage her students.  Maxine ‘s courses, whether online or on ground, are always technologically current and pedagogically sound.”

eLCC 2014 Support Person of the Year

Keairns_eLCC_2014Kathy Keairns, Director of Web-Based Learning in the Office of Teaching and Learning at the University of Denver was named the 2014 Support Person of the Year.  Her nomination noted, “her training and support programs for online faculty are well-regarded and promote high standards for DU online courses.”  Keairns is a long-time member of the eLearning Consortium of Colorado and currently serves as co-chair. In that capacity, she was recognized for promoting new technologies and methods in elearning, attracting new members, and making eLCC a strong and viable organization.

The eLearning Consortium of Colorado (formerly Colorado TELECOOP) is a non-profit organization based in Colorado, U.S.A. The membership consists of a coalition of public and private colleges, universities, K-12 education, and private sector business dedicated to the enhancement of educational opportunities through eLearning since 1986.